Sling-Shotting Through Hell

30th August 2016

I’m sitting with one of my good friends from childhood, we’ll call her K, watching an outdoor movie. She sneaks away into the toilet and I notice she’s gone for a while so I go looking for her. I walk into these toilets and you can tell they were once just really white and clean. Toilets, floors, walls, stalls everything would’ve been a crisp clean white. Now they were all dusty and spattered with dirt and the lighting gave off a really spooky blue-green almost uv-light glow.

I look around for her to see this little cartoon character girl come at me from the wall, saying I must watch her story and help her. I follow her into one of the stalls at the end which turns into this labyrinth of almost hospital looking corridors and passageways, getting shorter and shorter as I go along until I’m sliding along on my stomach following this little girl. I finally come to a crack in the floor that would be just barely big enough for me to squeeze through and there’s water rushing through it.

This is where the little girl cartoon commences her story, and it’s a black and white line drawing of what happened. She was fishing in a river for fish only to turn around and see that her little sister had fallen in and was taken away. She was found dead. The cartoon disappears and this river that I’m looking over suddenly turns a murky dark green, like a swamp. I fall in and see a tiny little doll that the cartoon looked like, old and ragged. I work out that this tunnel was built over this river that used to be the girl’s fishing spot.

I find my way out of this tunnel and back into a the original bathroom stall to find the little girl and she asks for my help. She needs to find her sister. I try and tell her that she died and not to blame herself but she insists that I find her…I find myself in front of a much smaller watery hole looking down. I’m looking through the eyes of a cat, though, and I fall through this hole down and down and down.

I find the sister and ask her to take my hand, we need to go home. She told me that I shouldn’t be here, that her sister had sacrificed so many lives already to try and find her. She gestures with her hand around the room and I see cat skins…heaps of cat skins. I come to the realizations that the cartoon girl turns people into cats so they can send their souls to whatever purgatory hell this is to try and get her sister back. Obviously many souls never came back and their cats waiting at the top have passed away and ended up here.

I angrily ask her how this is possible and how long has this been going on? Years and years apparently. The only way to make my way out is to slingshot my way from cats: there are taxidermied cats hanging in a really spaced spiral formation up and up to the point where I can’t see the end. I start sling-shotting my way from cat to cat, up and up until I catapult myself, barely holding onto the tiny opening in which I started falling. The cartoon girl lifts me up and I see my cat, a white small cat with green eyes just staring like a zombie down the hole waiting for me to return. When I return the girl to her sister the cat shakes it off and stares up at me before trotting away.

I finally hear my friend, K, calling out for me. I find her in a toilet stall in enough time to see her turn into a green bug. She crawls into my hand and said something to the effect of “it’s time for me to go now” or “I’m not meant to be here” or something like that and she folds into herself until she’s the shape of a matchbook. She then turns into a folded peice of cardboard and everything around me gets really dark and scary. Not just dark where you’re lost in the woods or something but supernaturally scary with voices and echos and ghosts coming from the fog all around you.

I’m screaming hysterically, in tears begging K to come back running looking for the door as I wake up.

Leave a comment